Metrobank - DepEd Oustanding Teacher to attend Teachers Conference in Brunei

When it rains it pours --- that’s what two outstanding public school teachers
found out when they were recently chosen to attend the Teachers’ Conference
in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam on October 21-23. The news came
on the heels of their bagging the highly coveted Search for Outstanding
Teachers of the Metrobank Foundation.

Department of EducationJesusa Antiquiera, an English teacher of P. Gomez Elementary School in Sta.
Cruz Manila and Rowena Hibanada, a Social Studies teacher in Pedro E Diaz
High School in Alabang, Muntinlupa were chosen by the Department of
Education to represent the country after receiving invitation from the Ministry of
Education of Brunei Darussalam.

“Giving our teachers a chance to meet their peers from other parts of the world
is one way of rewarding the outstanding performances of our teachers,”
Education Secretary Jesli Lapus said.

Teresita Inciong, Assistant Secretary for Programs and Projects and Metrobank
Chair of Preliminary Board of Judges, Elementary Level, the two Metrobank
awardees will join discussions on teachers’ professional standard, teaching for
the 21st century, special education, technical and vocational education, ICT, cocurriculum
education and counseling.

Antiquiera and Hibanada joined other outstanding teachers who were presented
by George S.K. Ty, Metrobank founder and group chairman, to President Gloria
Macapagal-Arroyo in ceremonies held in Malacañang.

Other awardees were: (elementary level) Lynn Padillo of Naga Central School in
Naga City; Maydelyn Antioquia of President Manuel Roxas Memorial School
North in Roxas City; and Marie Theresse Bagas of West City Central School in
Cagayan de Oro City; (secondary level) Ermie Rabara of Midsayap-Dilangalen
National High School in Midsayap, Cotabato; Jeanette Dials of Mariano Marcos
State University Laboratory High School in Laoag City; and Noemi Obcena of
Cagayan National High School in Tuguegarao City.

Awardees from the higher education level were Dr. Irma Makalinao of the
University of the Philippines-Manila and Dr. Virginia Cuevas of the University of
the Philippines in Los Baños, Laguna.

I personally disagree giving best teacher awards to those financially stable teachers from UP.
I wonder how they perform if they handle less opportunity students from Provinces.


0 Komento ng Ulirang Guro: