5 Outstanding Students in Leadership and Academics Awards

The Department of Education awarded 5 outstanding students in leadership and academics chosen among public and private high school students nationwide. They were the recipients of the 5th Pambansang Gawad sa Ulirang Kabataan.

The awardees were honored at the Provincial Capitol Gymnasium in Malolos, Bulacan as part of the 111th anniversary of Philippine Independence celebration.
The winners, selected from the recent graduating batch (completed secondary education by June 2009), are

  • Kevin Catapusan and Sarah Donna Domingo of the Agusan National High School in Butuan City;
  • Lorenz Ray Payonga of Marcial Panola Memorial School in Albay;
  • Isabella Supnet of Muntinlupa Science School in Muntinlupa and
  • Alyssa Tricia Eloise Vintola of Ramon Teves Pastor Memorial Dumaguete Science High School in Dumaguete City.

“We have a rich reservoir of outstanding future leaders among our youth. The Gawad allows our students to appreciate and emulate these youth achievers,” Secretary Lapus said.

The Pambansang Gawad recognizes the achievements and contributions of outstanding students in their school and community.

The awardees are all achievers, leaders and active community workers. They graduated with top honors in high school and went through a rigid selection process. The criteria for selection were
  1. personality and character - 20 percent;
  2. critical thinking - 10 percent;
  3. rhetoric - 10 percent;
  4. quality and content - 10 percent and
  5. credentials - 50 percent.
“The award serves as an inspiration to the youth and motivates us in getting involved in community activities. We should always strive to perform well not only in our academics but in developing our skills and our whole personality,” awardee Lorenz Payonga said.

Some five evaluators, three interviewers and three judges from the academe, the government and private sectors were invited during the three-day selection process. The judges during the final interview were Raul Dominic Badilla of the National Youth Commission, Atty. Josephina D.V. Saliva of the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority and prominent TV host Eugenio “Boy” Abunda.

Posted with the help of our friends in Philippines call center as they provide us with support for the maintenance of this blog site.

Add to Google

4 Komento ng Ulirang Guro:

wow ang galing galing naman! congrats sa mga awardees! btw, are you accepting xlinks? do email me at estudyantengblogger@gmail.com. thanks!

by the way, i already placed a link to your site here:


(blogroll is somewhere down the bottom).

i will do link exchange with you but i could do this on weekend only

it's so nice to hear good news like this one about outstanding students, after all the scandals we see and read everyday in the media.Congratulations to all of them and to their parents! yes ma'am I want to exchange link with you, I will add you to my blogroll right now, sorry for the delayed response.